European Framework for Action on Cultural Heritage

15 February 2021

The European Framework for Action on Cultural Heritage reflects the heritage-related activities at European Level. It builds on the efforts of the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018, to capture and scale-up its success to ensure a lasting impact. The Framework establishes a set of four principles and five main areas of continued action for Europe’s cultural heritage:

4 key principles

  • Holistic
  • Mainstreaming/integrated
  • Evidence-based policy making
  • Multi-stakeholder

5 areas of continued action

  • an inclusive Europe: participation and access for all
  • a sustainable Europe: smart solutions for a cohesive and sustainable future
  • a resilient Europe: safeguarding endangered heritage
  • an innovative Europe: mobilising knowledge and research
  • a stronger global partnership: reinforcing international cooperation

Link (if available):

Source: iStock, Neonovo